Shannon County, Missouri Records

Shannon County, Missouri (Map It) was created on January 29, 1841 from Ripley County. The county was named in honor of George Shannon (1785–1836), member of the Lewis and Clark Expedition.

Shannon County is bordered by Dent County (north), Reynolds County (east), Carter County (southeast), Oregon County (south), Howell County (southwest), Texas County (west).

Shannon County Cities and Towns include Akers, Alley Spring, Birch Tree, Eminence, Ink, Midridge, Montier, Summersville, Teresita, Winona.

A Map of Shannon County, Missouri contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Shannon County, Missouri Courthouse Records

Shannon County, Missouri Courthouse
  • Save

Shannon County, MO Courthouse

The Shannon County Courthouse is located in Eminence, Missouri. Courthouse was burned by Federal soldiers in 1863 destroying this early courthouse along with all county records; , Fire destroyed the Courthouse December 31, 1871; An arsonist set fire to the courthouse and both clerks' offices in March of 1895. The courthouse was not seriously damaged, although all county records were destroyed; On May 23, 1938, fire destroyed the courthouse. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Shannon county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Shannon County, Missouri Census Records

Shannon County, Missouri Vital Records

Shannon County, Missouri Resources

Shannon County, Missouri External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save