Chariton County, Missouri Records

Chariton County, Missouri (Map It) was created on November 16, 1820 from Howard County. The county was named for the Chariton River, a tributary of the Missouri River, whose naming origin is disputed.

Chariton County is bordered by Linn County (north), Macon County (northeast), Randolph County (east), Howard County (southeast), Saline County (southwest), Carroll County (west), Livingston County (northwest).

Chariton County Cities and Towns include Brunswick, Bynumville, Dalton, Forest Green, Keytesville, Marceline, Mendon, Prairie Hill, Rothville, Salisbury, Snyder, Sumner, Triplett.

A Map of Chariton County, Missouri contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Chariton County, Missouri Courthouse Records

Chariton County, Missouri Courthouse
  • Save

Chariton County, MO Courthouse

The Chariton County Courthouse is located in Keytesville, Missouri. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Chariton county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

A fire in the clerk's office, apart from the courthouse, destroyed all County Court records November 11, 1861, and fires set by Confederates on September 20, 1864, destroyed the courthouse. The brick courthouse, painted white in 1969, was destroyed by fire August 27, 1973, during a renovation project.

Chariton County, Missouri Census Records

Chariton County, Missouri Vital Records

Chariton County, Missouri Resources

Chariton County, Missouri External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save