Winston County, Mississippi Records

Winston County, Mississippi (Map It) was created on December 23, 1833 from Lowndes County, Rankin County, and Wayne County. The county was named in honor of Louis Winston, Mississippi Supreme Court justice .

Winston County is bordered by Oktibbeha County (north), Noxubee County (east), Kemper County (southeast), Neshoba County (south), Attala County (west) and Choctaw County (northwest).

Winston County Cities and Towns include Louisville, Noxapater.

A Map of Winston County, Mississippi contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Winston County, Mississippi Courthouse Records

Winston County, Mississippi Courthouse
  • Save

Winston County, MS Courthouse

The Winston County Courthouse is located in Louisville, Mississippi. Learn More About State of Mississippi Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Winston county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Winston County Chancery Court Clerk has Land Records from 1835, Probate Records from 1834 and Divorce Records from see Clerk. The County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records.
  • Winston County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1834 and Court Records from 1856. The County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
  • Winston County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.
  • Winston County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

Winston County, Mississippi Census Records

Winston County, Mississippi Vital Records

Winston County, Mississippi Resources

Winston County, Mississippi External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save