Lowndes County, Mississippi Records

Lowndes County, Mississippi (Map It) was created on January 30, 1830 from Monroe County and Un-Organized Land. The county was named in honor of William Jones Lowndes, U.S. Representative from South Carolina.

Lowndes County is bordered by Noxubee County (south), Oktibbeha County (west), Clay County (northwest), Monroe County (north), Lamar County, Alabama (northeast) and Pickens County, Alabama (southeast).

Lowndes County Cities and Towns include Columbus, Artesia, Caledonia, Crawford.

A Map of Lowndes County, Mississippi contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Lowndes County, Mississippi Courthouse Records

Lowndes County, Mississippi Courthouse
  • Save

Lowndes County, MS Courthouse

The Lowndes County Courthouse is located in Columbus, Mississippi. Learn More About State of Mississippi Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Lowndes county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Lowndes County Chancery Court Clerk has Land Records from 1830, Probate Records from 1830 and Divorce Records from see Clerk. The County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records.
  • Lowndes County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1830 and Court Records from 1837. The County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
  • Lowndes County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.
  • Lowndes County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

Lowndes County, Mississippi Census Records

Lowndes County, Mississippi Vital Records

Lowndes County, Mississippi Resources

Lowndes County, Mississippi External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save