Monroe County, Mississippi Records

Monroe County, Mississippi (Map It) was created on February 9, 1821 from Un-Organized Land. The county was named in honor of James Monroe, fifth U.S. President .

Monroe County is bordered by Lowndes County (south), Clay County (southwest), Chickasaw County (west), Lee County (northwest), Itawamba County (north) and Lamar County, Alabama (east).

Monroe County Cities and Towns include Aberdeen, Amory, Hatley, Nettleton , Smithville, Caledonia, Gattman.

A Map of Monroe County, Mississippi contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Monroe County, Mississippi Courthouse Records

Monroe County, Mississippi Courthouse
  • Save

Monroe County, MS Courthouse

The Monroe County Courthouse is located in Aberdeen, Mississippi. Learn More About State of Mississippi Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Monroe county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Monroe County Chancery Court Clerk has Land Records from 1821, Probate Records from 1825 and Divorce Records from see Clerk. The County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records.
  • Monroe County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1821 and Court Records from 1825. The County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
  • Monroe County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.
  • Monroe County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

Monroe County, Mississippi Census Records

Monroe County, Mississippi Vital Records

Monroe County, Mississippi Resources

Monroe County, Mississippi External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save