Chickasaw County, Mississippi Records

Chickasaw County, Mississippi (Map It) was created on February 9, 1836 from Monroe Countyand  and Unorganized Land. The county was named in honor of Chickasaw Native Americans .

Chickasaw County is bordered by Pontotoc County (north), Lee County (northeast), Monroe County (east), Clay County (southeast), Webster County (southwest) and Calhoun County (west).

Chickasaw County Cities and Towns include Houston, Okolona, New Houlka, Woodland.

A Map of Chickasaw County, Mississippi contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Chickasaw County, Mississippi Courthouse Records

Chickasaw County, Mississippi Courthouse
  • Save

Chickasaw County, MS Courthouse

The Chickasaw County Courthouse is located in Houston, Mississippi. The County Courthouse was destroyed by fire in 1863, most records were destroyed. Learn More About State of Mississippi Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Chickasaw county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Chickasaw County Chancery Court Clerk has Land Records from 1836, Probate Records from 1863 and Divorce Records from see Clerk. The County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records.
  • Chickasaw County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1863 and Court Records from 1863. The County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
  • Chickasaw County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.
  • Chickasaw County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

Chickasaw County, Mississippi Census Records

Chickasaw County, Mississippi Vital Records

Chickasaw County, Mississippi Resources

Chickasaw County, Mississippi External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save