Calhoun County, Mississippi Records

Calhoun County, Mississippi (Map It) was created on March 8, 1852 from LaFayette County, Yalobusha County and Chickasaw County. The county was named in honor of John C. Calhoun, U.S. Senator from South Carolina and prominent supporter of states' rights .

Calhoun County is bordered by LaFayette County (north), Pontotoc County (northeast), Chickasaw County (east), Webster County (south), Grenada County (southwest) and Yalobusha County (west).

Calhoun County Cities and Towns include Bruce, Calhoun City, Derma, Vardaman, Big Creek, Pittsboro, Slate Springs.

A Map of Calhoun County, Mississippi contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Calhoun County, Mississippi Courthouse Records

Calhoun County, Mississippi Courthouse
  • Save

Calhoun County, MS Courthouse

The Calhoun County Courthouse is located in Pittsboro, Mississippi. The County court house was destroyed by fire on December 22, 1922 all recoreds were destroyed. Five books of land abstracts were saved out of the fire from the chancery clerk's office. These books were begun in 1852 when the county was create. They have valuable genealogical and historical information. They are housed in the chancery clerk's office in Pittsboro, along with transcribed copies. Learn More About State of Mississippi Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Calhoun county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Calhoun County Chancery Court Clerk has Land Records from 1852, Probate Records from 1922 and Divorce Records from see Clerk. The County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records.
  • Calhoun County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1922 and Court Records from 1922. The County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
  • Calhoun County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.
  • Calhoun County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

Calhoun County, Mississippi Census Records

Calhoun County, Mississippi Vital Records

Calhoun County, Mississippi Resources

Calhoun County, Mississippi External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save