Lafayette County, Mississippi Records

Lafayette County, Mississippi (Map It) was created on February 9, 1836 from Monroe County. The county was named in honor of Marquis de la Fayette, French-born Revolutionary War general .

Lafayette County is bordered by Marshall County (north), Union County (northeast), Pontotoc County (southeast), Calhoun County (south), Yalobusha County (southwest), Panola County (west) and Tate County (nothwest).

Lafayette County Cities and Towns include Oxford, Abbeville, Taylor.

A Map of Lafayette County, Mississippi contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Lafayette County, Mississippi Courthouse Records

Lafayette County, Mississippi Courthouse
  • Save

Lafayette County, MS Courthouse

The Lafayette County Courthouse is located in Oxford, Mississippi. Learn More About State of Mississippi Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Lafayette county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Lafayette County Chancery Court Clerk has Land Records from 1836, Probate Records from 1836 and Divorce Records from see Clerk. The County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records.
  • Lafayette County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1850 and Court Records from 1836. The County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
  • Lafayette County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.
  • Lafayette County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

Lafayette County, Mississippi Census Records

Lafayette County, Mississippi Vital Records

Lafayette County, Mississippi Resources

Lafayette County, Mississippi External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save