Union County, Mississippi Records

Union County, Mississippi (Map It) was created on July 7, 1870 from Pontotoc County, Lee County and Tippiah County. The county was named for the Reunion of Confederacy with the United States.

Union County is bordered by Benton County (north), Tippiah County (north), Prentiss County (east), Lee County (southeast), Pontotoc County (south), Lafayette County (southwest) and Marshall County (northwest).

Union County Cities and Towns include New Albany, Myrtle, Sherman, Blue Springs.

A Map of Union County, Mississippi contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Union County, Mississippi Courthouse Records

Union County, Mississippi Courthouse
  • Save

Union County, MS Courthouse

The Union County Courthouse is located in New Albany, Mississippi. The courthouse was destroyed by fire on October 28, 1881. Lost in the fire were all the county records accumulated since 1870, School Commisser Minutes 1846-59 are available. Learn More About State of Mississippi Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Union county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Union County Chancery Court Clerk has Land Records from 1872, Probate Records from ? and Divorce Records from see Clerk. The County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records.
  • Union County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1878 and Court Records from ?. The County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
  • Union County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.
  • Union County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

Union County, Mississippi Census Records

  • Learn More: State of Mississippi Census Records
  • U.S. Federal Population Schedules: 1880 (free index), 1890 (fragmented), 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940
  • U.S. Census Reconstructed Records: None
  • State Population Schedules: None
  • U.S. Federal Census Slave Schedules: None
  • U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules: 1880
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Agriculture Schedules: 1880
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Industry Schedules: 1880
  • Union Veterans Schedules: 1890

Union County, Mississippi Vital Records

Union County, Mississippi Resources

Union County, Mississippi External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save