Prentiss County, Mississippi Records

Prentiss County, Mississippi (Map It) was created on April 15, 1870 from Itawamba County and Tishomingo County. The county was named in honor of Seargent Smith Prentiss, U.S. Representative from Mississippi .

Prentiss County is bordered by Alcorn County (north), Tishomingo County (east), Itawamba County (southeast), Lee County (southwest), Union County (west) and Tippah County (nothwest).

Prentiss County Cities and Towns include Baldwyn, Booneville, Jumpertown, Marietta.

A Map of Prentiss County, Mississippi contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Prentiss County, Mississippi Courthouse Records

Prentiss County, Mississippi Courthouse
  • Save

Prentiss County, MS Courthouse

The Prentiss County Courthouse is located in Booneville, Mississippi. Learn More About State of Mississippi Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Prentiss county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Prentiss County Chancery Court Clerk has Land Records from 1836, Probate Records from and Divorce Records from see Clerk. The County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records.
  • Prentiss County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from and Court Records from 1872. The County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
  • Prentiss County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.
  • Prentiss County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

Prentiss County, Mississippi Census Records

  • Learn More: State of Mississippi Census Records
  • U.S. Federal Population Schedules: 1880 (free index), 1890 (fragmented), 1900, 1910, 1920, 1930, 1940
  • U.S. Census Reconstructed Records: None
  • State Population Schedules: None
  • U.S. Federal Census Slave Schedules: None
  • U.S. Federal Census Mortality Schedules: 1880
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Agriculture Schedules: 1880
  • Selected U.S. Federal Census Industry Schedules: 1880
  • Union Veterans Schedules: 1890

Prentiss County, Mississippi Vital Records

Prentiss County, Mississippi Resources

Prentiss County, Mississippi External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save