Kemper County, Mississippi Records

Kemper County, Mississippi (Map It) was created on December 23, 1833 from Lowndes County, Rankin County and Wayne County. The county was named in honor of Reuben Kemper, American pioneer and revolutionary in Spanish Florida.

Kemper County is bordered by Noxubee County (north), Sumter County, Alabama (east), Lauderdale County (south), Neshoba County (west) and Winston County (northwest).

Kemper County Cities and Towns include De Kalb, Scooba, Preston, Porterville.

A Map of Kemper County, Mississippi contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Kemper County, Mississippi Courthouse Records

Kemper County, Mississippi Courthouse
  • Save

Kemper County, MS Courthouse

The Kemper County Courthouse is located in De Kalb, Mississippi. The County Courthouse was destroyed in 1882, All records were destroyed. Learn More About State of Mississippi Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Kemper county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Kemper County Chancery Court Clerk has Land Records from 1881, Probate Records from 1881 and Divorce Records from see Clerk. The County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records.
  • Kemper County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1912 and Court Records from 1881. The County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
  • Kemper County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.
  • Kemper County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

Kemper County, Mississippi Census Records

Kemper County, Mississippi Vital Records

Kemper County, Mississippi Resources

Kemper County, Mississippi External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save