Attala County, Mississippi Records

Attala County, Mississippi (Map It) was created on December 23, 1833 from Madison County. The county was named for a fictional Native American heroine from an early 19th-century novel by François-René de Chateaubriand.

Attala County is bordered by Montgomery County (north), Choctaw County (northeast), Winston County (east), Leake County (south), Madison County (southwest), Holmes County (west) and Carroll County (northwest) .

Attala County Cities and Towns include Kosciusko, Ethel, McCool, Sallis.

A Map of Attala County, Mississippi contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Attala County, Mississippi Courthouse Records

Attala County, Mississippi Courthouse
  • Save

Attala County, MS Courthouse

The Attala County Courthouse is located in Kosciusko, Mississippi. The Attala County Court House has burned on three separate occasions. The first fire on 28 July 1858 was the most devastating as all records were destroyed. For this reason, no records exist prior to August 1858. The second fire was in July 1860 and although the records on hand were somewhat meager, none were lost. The third fire occured on 26 July 1896 and some records were lost including the county marriage records. Learn More About State of Mississippi Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Attala county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Attala County Chancery Court Clerk has Land Records from 1858, Probate Records from 1858 and Divorce Records from see Clerk. The County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records.
  • Attala County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1892 and Court Records from 1858. The County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
  • Attala County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.
  • Attala County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

Attala County, Mississippi Census Records

Attala County, Mississippi Vital Records

Attala County, Mississippi Resources

Attala County, Mississippi External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save