Leake County, Mississippi Records

Leake County, Mississippi (Map It) was created on December 23, 1833 from Madison County and Rankin County. The county was named in honor of Walter Leake, Governor of Mississippi .

Leake County is bordered by Attala County (north), Neshoba County (east), Scott County (south) and Madison County (west).

Leake County Cities and Towns include Carthage, Lena, Sebastopol, Walnut Grove.

A Map of Leake County, Mississippi contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Leake County, Mississippi Courthouse Records

Leake County, Mississippi Courthouse
  • Save

Leake County, MS Courthouse

The Leake County Courthouse is located in Carthage, Mississippi. Learn More About State of Mississippi Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Leake county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Leake County Chancery Court Clerk has Land Records from 1834, Probate Records from 1852 and Divorce Records from see Clerk. The County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records.
  • Leake County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1836 and Court Records from 1844. The County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
  • Leake County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.
  • Leake County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

Leake County, Mississippi Census Records

Leake County, Mississippi Vital Records

Leake County, Mississippi Resources

Leake County, Mississippi External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save