Franklin County, Mississippi Records

Franklin County, Mississippi (Map It) was created on December 21, 1809 from Adams County. The county was named in honor of Benjamin Franklin, writer, orator, publisher, and U.S. founding father .

Franklin County is bordered by Jefferson County (north), Lincoln County (east), Amite County (south), Wilkinson County (southwest) and Adams County (west).

Franklin County Cities and Towns include Bude, Meadville, Roxie.

A Map of Franklin County, Mississippi contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Franklin County, Mississippi Courthouse Records

Franklin County, Mississippi Courthouse
  • Save

Franklin County, MS Courthouse

The Franklin County Courthouse is located in Meadville, Mississippi. The County Courthouse burned in 1877, some records were destroyed. Learn More About State of Mississippi Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Franklin county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Franklin County Chancery Court Clerk has Land Records from 1842, Probate Records from 1842 and Divorce Records from see Clerk. The County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records.
  • Franklin County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1825 and Court Records from 1836. The County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
  • Franklin County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.
  • Franklin County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

Franklin County, Mississippi Census Records

Franklin County, Mississippi Vital Records

Franklin County, Mississippi Resources

Franklin County, Mississippi External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save