Jefferson County, Mississippi Records

Jefferson County, Mississippi (Map It) was created on April 2, 1799 as an original county, Formed as Pickering County and renamed in 1802. The county was named in honor of Thomas Jefferson, third U.S. President and principal author of the Declaration of Independence .

Jefferson County is bordered by Claiborne County (north), Copiah County (northeast), Lincoln County (southeast), Franklin County (south), Adams County (southwest) and Tensas Parish, Louisiana (west).

Jefferson County Cities and Towns include Fayette.

A Map of Jefferson County, Mississippi contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Jefferson County, Mississippi Courthouse Records

Jefferson County, Mississippi Courthouse
  • Save

Jefferson County, MS Courthouse

The Jefferson County Courthouse is located in Fayette, Mississippi. Record loss in 1904. The Old courthouse burned in 1990, A majority of records were saved, though some of the "saved" records were later lost. Learn More About State of Mississippi Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Jefferson county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Jefferson County Chancery Court Clerk has Land Records from 1798, Probate Records from 1805 and Divorce Records from see Clerk. The County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records.
  • Jefferson County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1805 and Court Records from 1802. The County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
  • Jefferson County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.
  • Jefferson County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

Jefferson County, Mississippi Census Records

Jefferson County, Mississippi Vital Records

Jefferson County, Mississippi Resources

Jefferson County, Mississippi External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save