Amite County, Mississippi Records

Amite County, Mississippi (Map It) was created on February 24, 1809 from Wilkinson County (parts of the county were used to create Pike County, Marion County, Perry County, Greene County and Lamar County). The county was named for the Amite River.

Amite County is bordered by Franklin County (north), Lincoln County (northeast), Pike County (east), Tangipahoa Parish, Louisiana (southeast), St. Helena Parish, Louisiana (south), East Feliciana Parish, Louisiana (southwest) and Wilkinson County (west).

Amite County Cities and Towns include Centreville, Crosby, Gloster, Liberty.

A Map of Amite County, Mississippi contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Amite County, Mississippi Courthouse Records

Amite County, Mississippi Courthouse
  • Save

Amite County, MS Courthouse

The Amite County Courthouse is located in Liberty, Mississippi. Learn More About State of Mississippi Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Amite county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Amite County Chancery Court Clerk has Land Records from 1810, Probate Records from 1809 and Divorce Records from see Clerk. The County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records.
  • Amite County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1809 and Court Records from 1809. The County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
  • Amite County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.
  • Amite County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

Amite County, Mississippi Census Records

Amite County, Mississippi Vital Records

Amite County, Mississippi Resources

Amite County, Mississippi External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save