Greene County, Mississippi Records

Greene County, Mississippi (Map It) was created on December 9, 1811 from Wayne County. The county was named in honor of Nathanael Greene, Revolutionary War general .

Greene County is bordered by Wayne County (north), Washington County, Alabama (northeast), Mobile County, Alabama (southeast), George County (south) and Perry County (west).

Greene County Cities and Towns include Leakesville, McLain, State Line.

A Map of Greene County, Mississippi contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Greene County, Mississippi Courthouse Records

Greene County, Mississippi Courthouse
  • Save

Greene County, MS Courthouse

The Greene County Courthouse is located in Leakesville, Mississippi. The first Court House was a little log building, which was destroyed by fire in 1875, all records were destroyed. Learn More About State of Mississippi Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Greene county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Greene County Chancery Court Clerk has Land Records from 1876, Probate Records from 1842 and Divorce Records from see Clerk. The County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records.
  • Greene County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1874 and Court Records from 1898. The County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
  • Greene County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.
  • Greene County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

Greene County, Mississippi Census Records

Greene County, Mississippi Vital Records

Greene County, Mississippi Resources

Greene County, Mississippi External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save