Marion County, Mississippi Records

Marion County, Mississippi (Map It) was created on December 9, 1811 from Amite County, Wayne County and Franklin County. The county was named in honor of Francis Marion, Revolutionary War general .

Marion County is bordered by Jefferson Davis County (north), Lamar County (east), Pearl River County (southeast), Washington Parish, Louisiana (south), Walthall County (west) and Lawrence County (northwest).

Marion County Cities and Towns include Columbia.

A Map of Marion County, Mississippi contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Marion County, Mississippi Courthouse Records

Marion County, Mississippi Courthouse
  • Save

Marion County, MS Courthouse

The Marion County Courthouse is located in Columbia, Mississippi. Learn More About State of Mississippi Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Marion county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Marion County Chancery Court Clerk has Land Records from 1821, Probate Records from 1812 and Divorce Records from see Clerk. The County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records.
  • Marion County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1812 and Court Records from 1812. The County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
  • Marion County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.
  • Marion County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

Marion County, Mississippi Census Records

Marion County, Mississippi Vital Records

Marion County, Mississippi Resources

Marion County, Mississippi External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save