Lawrence County, Mississippi Records

Lawrence County, Mississippi (Map It) was created on December 22, 1814 from Marion County. The county was named in honor of James Lawrence, War of 1812 naval captain .

Lawrence County is bordered by Simpson County (northeast), Jefferson Davis County (east), Marion County (southeast), Walthall County (south), Lincoln County (west) and Copiah County (northwest).

Lawrence County Cities and Towns include Monticello, New Hebron, Silver Creek.

A Map of Lawrence County, Mississippi contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Lawrence County, Mississippi Courthouse Records

Lawrence County, Mississippi Courthouse
  • Save

Lawrence County, MS Courthouse

The Lawrence County Courthouse is located in Monticello, Mississippi. Some Record loss. Learn More About State of Mississippi Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Lawrence county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Lawrence County Chancery Court Clerk has Land Records from 1815, Probate Records from 1836 and Divorce Records from see Clerk. The County Chancery Court Clerk record all documents (warranty deeds, deed of trusts, military discharges, etc) to be in Public Land Records and create and maintain indexes for the documents filed in the land records, such as sectional indexes, direct/reverse indexes, etc. Maintain the Court dockets and file all records of the Court. Record and preserve court minute books. Submit divorce and other statistics to the Mississippi Department of Vital Records.
  • Lawrence County Clerk of Circuit Court has Marriage Records from 1818 and Court Records from 1815. The County Clerk of Circuit Court include Receiving and fileing all law suits, indictments, motions and other related papers in all Civil and Criminal Cases filed in the Circuit or County Courts. Keeps a record of all Judgments and Executions, Issues marriage licenses and keeps records of marriages.
  • Lawrence County Tax Assessor / Collector maintain original tax records, both real and personal.
  • Lawrence County Health Department has birth and death records from November 1, 1912. You may go to any county health department in the State of Mississippi to obtain a certificates can be issued while you wait.

Lawrence County, Mississippi Census Records

Lawrence County, Mississippi Vital Records

Lawrence County, Mississippi Resources

Lawrence County, Mississippi External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save