Iosco County, Michigan Records

Iosco County, Michigan (Map It) was created on April 1, 1840 from unorganized territory. The county was named for the Pseudo-Native American name created by Henry Schoolcraft.

Iosco County is bordered by Alcona County (north), Arenac County (south), Ogemaw County (west).

Iosco County Cities, Towns & Villages include  East Tawas, Tawas City, Whittemore.

Iosco County Townships include  Alabaster, Au Sable Charter, Baldwin, Burleigh, Grant, Oscoda Charter, Plainfield, Reno, Sherman, Tawas, Wilber.

A Map of Iosco County, Michigan contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Iosco County, Michigan Courthouse Records

Iosco County, Michigan Courthouse
  • Save

Iosco County, MI Courthouse

The Iosco County Courthouse is located in Tawas City, Michigan. Some early records  prior to organization on February 16, 1857 may be located in Cheboygan County and Saginaw County. Learn More About State of Michigan Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Iosco county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Iosco County Clerk has Births & Deaths from 1867 and Marriage Records from 1858. The County Clerk is responsible for keeping records of births, deaths, assumed names, co-partnerships, issuing and filing marriage licenses, gun permits, notary bonds and processing passports. The date listed for each category of record is the earliest record known to exist in that county. It does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and certainly does not indicate that all such events that year were actually registered. See also Iosco County Clerk Information for Genealogists
  • Iosco County Register of Deeds has Land from 1840.The County Register of Deeds is the official recording officer for all legal documents pertaining to the transfers and encumbrances of all real estate property within the County. The Register also provides permanent storage for approved original subdivision plats, condominiums, land surveys and section corners.
  • Iosco County Clerk of the Probate Court has Probate from 1859. The County Clerk of the Probate Court responsibilities include adjudicating and disposes of cases involving property of persons who have died or become incompetent, interprets wills and trusts, commits the mentally ill when necessary and appoints guardians and conservators for minors, incapacitated individuals and individuals with developmental disability.
  • Iosco County Clerk of the Circuit Court has Court from 1859. The County Clerk of the Circuit Court provides a variety of functions for the court such as, but not limited to: filing and maintaing the official record for all cases that come before the court; providing staff to assist in the operation of the court; working with the Jury Commission and notifying all potential jurors to appear for jury duty; and, processing felony criminal cases bound over from the District Court.

Iosco County, Michigan Census Records

Iosco County, Michigan Vital Records

Iosco County, Michigan Resources

Iosco County, Michigan External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save