Alcona County, Michigan Records

Alcona County, Michigan (Map It) was created on April 1, 1840 from unorganized territory. The county was named for Pseudo-Native American name created by Henry Schoolcraft.

Alcona County is bordered by Alpena County (north), Iosco County (south), Oscoda County (west).

Alcona County Cities, Towns & Villages include  Harrisville, Lincoln.

Alcona County Townships include  Alcona, Caledonia, Curtis, Greenbush, Gustin, Harrisville, Hawes, Haynes, Mikado, Millen, Mitchell.

A Map of Alcona County, Michigan contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Alcona County, Michigan Courthouse Records

Alcona County, Michigan Courthouse
  • Save

Alcona County, MI Courthouse

The Alcona County Courthouse is located in Harrisville, Michigan. Some early records  prior to organization on 12 March 1869 may be located in Mackinac County, Cheboygan County, Alpena County and Iosco County. Learn More About State of Michigan Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Alcona county. The dates indicated below are the first known records for this county which may include records of land, estates, taxes, vital records, divorces, naturalizations, voter registration, court records, and so forth.

  • Alcona County Clerk has Births & Deaths from 1869 and Marriage Records from 1869. The County Clerk is responsible for keeping records of births, deaths, assumed names, co-partnerships, issuing and filing marriage licenses, gun permits, notary bonds and processing passports. The date listed for each category of record is the earliest record known to exist in that county. It does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and certainly does not indicate that all such events that year were actually registered. See also Alcona County Clerk Information for Genealogists
  • Alcona County Register of Deeds has Land from 1869.The County Register of Deeds is the official recording officer for all legal documents pertaining to the transfers and encumbrances of all real estate property within the County. The Register also provides permanent storage for approved original subdivision plats, condominiums, land surveys and section corners.
  • Alcona County Clerk of the Probate Court has Probate from 1869. The County Clerk of the Probate Court responsibilities include adjudicating and disposes of cases involving property of persons who have died or become incompetent, interprets wills and trusts, commits the mentally ill when necessary and appoints guardians and conservators for minors, incapacitated individuals and individuals with developmental disability.
  • Alcona County Clerk of the Circuit Court has Court from 1869. The County Clerk of the Circuit Court provides a variety of functions for the court such as, but not limited to: filing and maintaing the official record for all cases that come before the court; providing staff to assist in the operation of the court; working with the Jury Commission and notifying all potential jurors to appear for jury duty; and, processing felony criminal cases bound over from the District Court.

Alcona County, Michigan Census Records

Alcona County, Michigan Vital Records

Alcona County, Michigan Resources

Alcona County, Michigan External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save