Mackinac County, Michigan Records

Mackinac County, Michigan (Map It) was created on October 26, 1818 from Wayne County. This county was originally Michilimackinac, believed to be a French interpretation of the Native American name for the place .

Mackinac County is bordered by Luce County (north), Chippewa County (east), Schoolcraft County (west), Emmet County (south).

Mackinac County Cities, Towns & Villages include  Mackinac Island, St. Ignace.

Mackinac County Townships include  Bois Blanc, Brevort, Clark, Garfield, Hendricks, Hudson, Marquette, Moran, Newton, Portage, St. Ignace.

A Map of Mackinac County, Michigan contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Mackinac County, Michigan Courthouse Records

Mackinac County, Michigan Courthouse
  • Save

Mackinac County, MI Courthouse

The Mackinac County Courthouse is located in St. Ignace, Michigan. Learn More About State of Michigan Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Mackinac county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Mackinac County Clerk has Births & Deaths from 1873 and Marriage Records from 1867. The County Clerk is responsible for keeping records of births, deaths, assumed names, co-partnerships, issuing and filing marriage licenses, gun permits, notary bonds and processing passports. The date listed for each category of record is the earliest record known to exist in that county. It does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and certainly does not indicate that all such events that year were actually registered. See also Mackinac County Clerk Information for Genealogists
  • Mackinac County Register of Deeds has Land from 1785.The County Register of Deeds is the official recording officer for all legal documents pertaining to the transfers and encumbrances of all real estate property within the County. The Register also provides permanent storage for approved original subdivision plats, condominiums, land surveys and section corners.
  • Mackinac County Clerk of the Probate Court has Probate from 1851. The County Clerk of the Probate Court responsibilities include adjudicating and disposes of cases involving property of persons who have died or become incompetent, interprets wills and trusts, commits the mentally ill when necessary and appoints guardians and conservators for minors, incapacitated individuals and individuals with developmental disability.
  • Mackinac County Clerk of the Circuit Court has Court from 1808. The County Clerk of the Circuit Court provides a variety of functions for the court such as, but not limited to: filing and maintaing the official record for all cases that come before the court; providing staff to assist in the operation of the court; working with the Jury Commission and notifying all potential jurors to appear for jury duty; and, processing felony criminal cases bound over from the District Court.

Mackinac County, Michigan Census Records

Mackinac County, Michigan Vital Records

Mackinac County, Michigan Resources

Mackinac County, Michigan External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save