Arenac County, Michigan Records

Arenac County, Michigan (Map It) was created on March 2, 1831 from  unorganized territory. Annexed to Bay County in 1857. Reinstated from Bay County on April 21 1883.. The county was named for Pseudo-Native American name created by Henry Schoolcraft.

Arenac County is bordered by Iosco County (northeast), Bay County (south), Gladwin County (west), Ogemaw County (northwest).

Arenac County Cities, Towns & Villages include  Au Gres, Omer, Standish, Sterling, Turner, Twining.

Arenac County Townships include  Adams, Arenac, Au Gres, Clayton, Deep River, Lincoln, Mason, Moffatt, Sims, Standish, Turner, Whitney.

A Map of Arenac County, Michigan contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Arenac County, Michigan Courthouse Records

Arenac County, Michigan Courthouse
  • Save

Arenac County, MI Courthouse

The Arenac County Courthouse is located in Standish, Michigan. Some early records  prior to organization on April 21 1883 may be located in Bay County and Saginaw County. Learn More About State of Michigan Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Arenac county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Arenac County Clerk has Births & Deaths from 1883 and Marriage Records from 1883. The County Clerk is responsible for keeping records of births, deaths, assumed names, co-partnerships, issuing and filing marriage licenses, gun permits, notary bonds and processing passports. The date listed for each category of record is the earliest record known to exist in that county. It does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and certainly does not indicate that all such events that year were actually registered. See also Arenac County Clerk Information for Genealogists
  • Arenac County Register of Deeds has Land from 1882.The County Register of Deeds is the official recording officer for all legal documents pertaining to the transfers and encumbrances of all real estate property within the County. The Register also provides permanent storage for approved original subdivision plats, condominiums, land surveys and section corners.
  • Arenac County Clerk of the Probate Court has Probate from 1883. The County Clerk of the Probate Court responsibilities include adjudicating and disposes of cases involving property of persons who have died or become incompetent, interprets wills and trusts, commits the mentally ill when necessary and appoints guardians and conservators for minors, incapacitated individuals and individuals with developmental disability.
  • Arenac County Clerk of the Circuit Court has Court from 1883. The County Clerk of the Circuit Court provides a variety of functions for the court such as, but not limited to: filing and maintaing the official record for all cases that come before the court; providing staff to assist in the operation of the court; working with the Jury Commission and notifying all potential jurors to appear for jury duty; and, processing felony criminal cases bound over from the District Court.

Arenac County, Michigan Census Records

Arenac County, Michigan Vital Records

Arenac County, Michigan Resources

Arenac County, Michigan External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save