Saginaw County, Michigan Records

Saginaw County, Michigan (Map It) was created on September 10, 1822 from St. Clair County and unorganized territory . The county was named for the Native American term, perhaps having reference to the Sauk tribe who lived at the mouth of the river .

Saginaw County is bordered by Bay County (northeast), Midland County (northwest), Tuscola County (east), Gratiot County (west), Genesee County (southeast), Shiawassee County (south), Clinton County (southwest).

Saginaw County Cities, Towns & Villages include  Frankenmuth , Saginaw, Zilwaukee, Birch Run, Chesaning , Merrill, Oakley, St. Charles.

Saginaw County Townships include  Albee, Birch Run, Blumfield, Brady, Brant, Bridgeport Charter, Buena Vista Charter, Carrollton, Chapin, Chesaning, Frankenmuth , Fremont, James, Jonesfield, Kochville, Lakefield, Maple Grove, Marion, Richland, Saginaw Charter, Spaulding, St. Charles, Swan Creek, Taymouth, Thomas, Tittabawassee, Zilwaukee.

A Map of Saginaw County, Michigan contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Saginaw County, Michigan Courthouse Records

Saginaw County, Michigan Courthouse
  • Save

Saginaw County, MI Courthouse

The Saginaw County Courthouse is located in Saginaw, Michigan. Some early records  prior to organization on February 9, 1835 may be located in Oakland County. Learn More About State of Michigan Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Saginaw county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Saginaw County Clerk has Births & Deaths from 1867 and Marriage Records from 1867. The County Clerk is responsible for keeping records of births, deaths, assumed names, co-partnerships, issuing and filing marriage licenses, gun permits, notary bonds and processing passports. The date listed for each category of record is the earliest record known to exist in that county. It does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and certainly does not indicate that all such events that year were actually registered. See also Saginaw County Clerk Information for Genealogists
  • Saginaw County Register of Deeds has Land from 1836.The County Register of Deeds is the official recording officer for all legal documents pertaining to the transfers and encumbrances of all real estate property within the County. The Register also provides permanent storage for approved original subdivision plats, condominiums, land surveys and section corners.
  • Saginaw County Clerk of the Probate Court has Probate from 1800?. The County Clerk of the Probate Court responsibilities include adjudicating and disposes of cases involving property of persons who have died or become incompetent, interprets wills and trusts, commits the mentally ill when necessary and appoints guardians and conservators for minors, incapacitated individuals and individuals with developmental disability.
  • Saginaw County Clerk of the Circuit Court has Court from 1843. The County Clerk of the Circuit Court provides a variety of functions for the court such as, but not limited to: filing and maintaing the official record for all cases that come before the court; providing staff to assist in the operation of the court; working with the Jury Commission and notifying all potential jurors to appear for jury duty; and, processing felony criminal cases bound over from the District Court.

Saginaw County, Michigan Census Records

Saginaw County, Michigan Vital Records

Saginaw County, Michigan Resources

Saginaw County, Michigan External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save