Oakland County, Michigan Records

Oakland County, Michigan (Map It) was created on January 12, 1819 from Macomb County. The county was named for the numerous "oak openings" in the county. Dr. Bela Hubbard, surveyor of Michigan, described an "oak opening" as "a majestic orchard of oaks and hickories varied by small prairies, grassy lawns and clear lakes." .

Oakland County is bordered by Lapeer County (northeast), Genesee County (northwest), Macomb County (east), Wayne County (southeast), Washtenaw County (southwest), Livingston County (west).

Oakland County Cities, Towns & Villages include  Auburn Hills, Berkley, Birmingham, Bloomfield Hills, Clarkston, Clawson, Farmington, Farmington Hills, Ferndale, Hazel Park, Huntington Woods, Keego Harbor, Lake Angelus, Lathrup Village, Madison Heights, Novi, Oak Park, Orchard Lake Village, Pleasant Ridge, Pontiac, Rochester, Rochester Hills, Royal Oak, South Lyon, Southfield, Sylvan Lake, Troy, Walled Lake, Wixom, Beverly Hills, Bingham Farms, Franklin, Holly, Lake Orion, Leonard, Milford, Ortonville, Oxford, Wolverine Lake.

Oakland County Townships include  Addison, Bloomfield Charter, Brandon, Commerce Charter, Groveland, Highland Charter, Holly, Independence Charter, Lyon Charter, Milford Charter, Novi, Oakland Charter, Orion Charter, Oxford Charter, Rose, Royal Oak Charter, Southfield, Springfield, Waterford Charter, West Bloomfield Charter, White Lake.

A Map of Oakland County, Michigan contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Oakland County, Michigan Courthouse Records

Oakland County, Michigan Courthouse
  • Save

Oakland County, MI Courthouse

The Oakland County Courthouse is located in Pontiac, Michigan. Some early records  prior to organization on March 28, 1820 may be located in Macomb County. Learn More About State of Michigan Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Oakland county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Oakland County Clerk has Births & Deaths from 1867 and Marriage Records from 1827. The County Clerk is responsible for keeping records of births, deaths, assumed names, co-partnerships, issuing and filing marriage licenses, gun permits, notary bonds and processing passports. The date listed for each category of record is the earliest record known to exist in that county. It does not indicate that there are numerous records for that year and certainly does not indicate that all such events that year were actually registered. See also Oakland County Clerk Information for Genealogists
  • Oakland County Register of Deeds has Land from 1821.The County Register of Deeds is the official recording officer for all legal documents pertaining to the transfers and encumbrances of all real estate property within the County. The Register also provides permanent storage for approved original subdivision plats, condominiums, land surveys and section corners.
  • Oakland County Clerk of the Probate Court has Probate from 1822. The County Clerk of the Probate Court responsibilities include adjudicating and disposes of cases involving property of persons who have died or become incompetent, interprets wills and trusts, commits the mentally ill when necessary and appoints guardians and conservators for minors, incapacitated individuals and individuals with developmental disability.
  • Oakland County Clerk of the Circuit Court has Court from 1826. The County Clerk of the Circuit Court provides a variety of functions for the court such as, but not limited to: filing and maintaing the official record for all cases that come before the court; providing staff to assist in the operation of the court; working with the Jury Commission and notifying all potential jurors to appear for jury duty; and, processing felony criminal cases bound over from the District Court.

Oakland County, Michigan Census Records

Oakland County, Michigan Vital Records

Oakland County, Michigan Resources

Oakland County, Michigan External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save