Wayne County, Indiana Records

Wayne County, Indiana (Map It) was created on November 27, 1810 from Clark County, Dearborn County and Knox County. This county was named for Gen. "Mad" Anthony Wayne, hero of the American Revolutionary War.

Wayne County is bordered by  Randolph County (north), Darke County, Ohio (northeast), preble County, Ohio (east), Union County (south), Fayette County (southwest), Henry County (west).

Wayne County Cities and Towns include  Boston, Cambridge City, Centerville, Dublin, East Germantown, Economy, Fountain City, Greens Fork, Hagerstown, Milton, Mount Auburn, Richmond, Spring Grove, Whitewater.

Wayne County Townships include  Abington, Boston, Center, Clay, Dalton, Franklin, Green, Harrison, Jackson, Jefferson, New Garden, Perry, Washington, Wayne, Webster. See Map of Wayne County Townships.

MapGeeks.org has is a collection of old Indiana maps.

Wayne County, Indiana Courthouse Records

Wayne County, Indiana Courthouse
  • Save

Wayne County, IN Courthouse

The Wayne County Courthouse is located in Richmond, Indiana. Learn More About State of Indiana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Wayne county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Wayne County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1811, Probate Records from 1812 and Court Records from 1811. The County Clerk responsiblities include administering Court Records of all Court Cases, prepares the Court's permanent historical record, performs marriage ceremonies, process marriage applications and issue marriage licenses, processes and distributes documents for court cases, and keeps a record of all wills and matters of trust in probate proceedings.
  • Wayne County Recorder has Land Records from 1816. The County Recorder maintains, preserves and Records Deeds, Mortgages, Assignments, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Real Estate Contracts, Annexations, Trustee Elections, Affidavits, Final Decrees, Surveys, Federal Tax Liens, Mechanics Liens, Military Discharges, Articles of Incorporation, Cemetery Deeds, Bonds, Plats, Condominiums, Firms Doing Business Under Assumed Names, Delinquent Sewer Liens, and Miscellaneous Instruments.
  • Wayne County Treasurer's Office is responsible for collecting taxes. The treasurer also receives distributions of local income and other taxes that are collected by the state such as real estate tax, personal property tax, mobile home tax, state assessed tax, and the following miscellaneous taxes: auto excise tax, inheritance tax, and innkeeper's tax.
  • Wayne County Department of Health has Birth & Death Records from 1882. The County Department of Health maintains and provides Certified Birth and Death Records.

Wayne County, Indiana Census Records

Wayne County, Indiana Vital Records

Wayne County, Indiana Resources

Wayne County, Indiana External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save