Fayette County, Indiana Records

Fayette County, Indiana (Map It) was created on December 28, 1818 from Franklin County and Wayne County. This county was named for Marquis de la Fayette, French noble who trained colonial soldiers in the American Revolutionary War.

Fayette County is bordered by  Henry County (north), Wayne County (northeast), Union County (east), Franklin County (south), Rush County (west).

Fayette County Cities and Towns include  Connersville, Glenwood, Bentonville, Everton, Harrisburg.

Fayette County Townships include  Columbia, Connersville, Fairview, Harrison, Jackson, Jennings, Orange, Posey, Waterloo. See Map of Fayette County Townships.

MapGeeks.org has is a collection of old Indiana maps.

Fayette County, Indiana Courthouse Records

Fayette County, Indiana Courthouse
  • Save

Fayette County, IN Courthouse

The Fayette County Courthouse is located in Connersville, Indiana. Learn More About State of Indiana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Fayette county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Fayette County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1819, Probate Records from 1819 and Court Records from 1819. The County Clerk responsiblities include administering Court Records of all Court Cases, prepares the Court's permanent historical record, performs marriage ceremonies, process marriage applications and issue marriage licenses, processes and distributes documents for court cases, and keeps a record of all wills and matters of trust in probate proceedings.
  • Fayette County Recorder has Land Records from 1816. The County Recorder maintains, preserves and Records Deeds, Mortgages, Assignments, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Real Estate Contracts, Annexations, Trustee Elections, Affidavits, Final Decrees, Surveys, Federal Tax Liens, Mechanics Liens, Military Discharges, Articles of Incorporation, Cemetery Deeds, Bonds, Plats, Condominiums, Firms Doing Business Under Assumed Names, Delinquent Sewer Liens, and Miscellaneous Instruments.
  • Fayette County Treasurer's Office is responsible for collecting taxes. The treasurer also receives distributions of local income and other taxes that are collected by the state such as real estate tax, personal property tax, mobile home tax, state assessed tax, and the following miscellaneous taxes: auto excise tax, inheritance tax, and innkeeper's tax.
  • Fayette County Department of Health has Birth & Death Records from 1883 / 1829. The County Department of Health maintains and provides Certified Birth and Death Records.

Fayette County, Indiana Census Records

Fayette County, Indiana Vital Records

Fayette County, Indiana Resources

Fayette County, Indiana External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save