Franklin County, Indiana Records

Franklin County, Indiana (Map It) was created on November 27, 1810 from Clark County and Dearborn County. This county was named for Writer, orator, scholar, and founding father Benjamin Franklin.

Franklin County is bordered by  Fayette County (north), Union County (north), Butler County, Ohio (east), Hamilton County, Ohio (southeast), Dearborn County (south), Ripley County (south), Decatur County (west), Rush County (northwest).

Franklin County Cities and Towns include   Batesville, Brookville, Cedar Grove, Laurel, Metamora, Mount Carmel, Oldenburg .

Franklin County Townships include  Bath, Blooming Grove, Brookville, Butler, Fairfield, Highland, Laurel, Metamora, Posey, Ray, Salt Creek, Springfield and Whitewater. See Map of Franklin County Townships. has is a collection of old Indiana maps.

Franklin County, Indiana Courthouse Records

Franklin County, Indiana Courthouse
  • Save

Franklin County, IN Courthouse

The Franklin County Courthouse is located in Brookville, Indiana. Learn More About State of Indiana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Franklin county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.Courthouse destroyed by Fire in Feb. 1852, No records lost.

  • Franklin County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1811, Probate Records from 1811 and Court Records from 1811. The County Clerk responsiblities include administering Court Records of all Court Cases, prepares the Court's permanent historical record, performs marriage ceremonies, process marriage applications and issue marriage licenses, processes and distributes documents for court cases, and keeps a record of all wills and matters of trust in probate proceedings.
  • Franklin County Recorder has Land Records from 1811. The County Recorder maintains, preserves and Records Deeds, Mortgages, Assignments, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Real Estate Contracts, Annexations, Trustee Elections, Affidavits, Final Decrees, Surveys, Federal Tax Liens, Mechanics Liens, Military Discharges, Articles of Incorporation, Cemetery Deeds, Bonds, Plats, Condominiums, Firms Doing Business Under Assumed Names, Delinquent Sewer Liens, and Miscellaneous Instruments.
  • Franklin County Treasurer's Office is responsible for collecting taxes. The treasurer also receives distributions of local income and other taxes that are collected by the state such as real estate tax, personal property tax, mobile home tax, state assessed tax, and the following miscellaneous taxes: auto excise tax, inheritance tax, and innkeeper's tax.
  • Franklin County Department of Health has Birth & Death Records from 1882. The County Department of Health maintains and provides Certified Birth and Death Records.

Franklin County, Indiana Census Records

Franklin County, Indiana Vital Records

Franklin County, Indiana Resources

Franklin County, Indiana External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save