Decatur County, Indiana Records

Decatur County, Indiana (Map It) was created on December 31, 1821 from Delaware New Purchase and Unorganized Land. This county was named for Commodore Stephen Decatur, hero of the War of 1812.

Decatur County is bordered by  Rush County (north), Franklin County (east), Ripley County (southeast), Jennings County (south), Bartholomew County (west), Shelby County (northwest).

Decatur County Cities and Towns include  Greensburg, Milford, Millhousen, Newpoint, St. Paul, Westport, Clarksburg, Indiana.

Decatur County Townships include  Adams, Clay, Clinton, Fugit, Jackson, Marion, Salt Creek, Sand Creek, Washington. See Map of Decatur County Townships. has is a collection of old Indiana maps.

Decatur County, Indiana Courthouse Records

Decatur County, Indiana Courthouse
  • Save

Decatur County, IN Courthouse

The Decatur County Courthouse is located in Greensburg, Indiana. Learn More About State of Indiana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Decatur county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Decatur County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1822, Probate Records from 1822 and Court Records from 1822. The County Clerk responsiblities include administering Court Records of all Court Cases, prepares the Court's permanent historical record, performs marriage ceremonies, process marriage applications and issue marriage licenses, processes and distributes documents for court cases, and keeps a record of all wills and matters of trust in probate proceedings.
  • Decatur County Recorder has Land Records from 1822. The County Recorder maintains, preserves and Records Deeds, Mortgages, Assignments, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Real Estate Contracts, Annexations, Trustee Elections, Affidavits, Final Decrees, Surveys, Federal Tax Liens, Mechanics Liens, Military Discharges, Articles of Incorporation, Cemetery Deeds, Bonds, Plats, Condominiums, Firms Doing Business Under Assumed Names, Delinquent Sewer Liens, and Miscellaneous Instruments.
  • Decatur County Treasurer's Office is responsible for collecting taxes. The treasurer also receives distributions of local income and other taxes that are collected by the state such as real estate tax, personal property tax, mobile home tax, state assessed tax, and the following miscellaneous taxes: auto excise tax, inheritance tax, and innkeeper's tax.
  • Decatur County Department of Health has Birth & Death Records from 1882. The County Department of Health maintains and provides Certified Birth and Death Records.

Decatur County, Indiana Census Records

Decatur County, Indiana Vital Records

Decatur County, Indiana Resources

Decatur County, Indiana External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save