Jennings County, Indiana Records

Jennings County, Indiana (Map It) was created on February 1, 1817 from Jackson County and Jefferson County. This county was named for Jonathan Jennings, the first Governor of Indiana.

Jennings County is bordered by  Decatur County (north), Ripley County (east), Jefferson County (southeast), Scott County (south), Jackson County (west), Bartholomew County (northwest).

Jennings County Cities and Towns include  North Vernon, Vernon.

Jennings County Townships include  Bigger, Campbell, Center, Columbia, Geneva, Lovett, Marion, Montgomery, Sand Creek, Spencer, Vernon. See Map of Jennings County Townships. has is a collection of old Indiana maps.

Jennings County, Indiana Courthouse Records

Jennings County, Indiana Courthouse
  • Save

Jennings County, IN Courthouse

The Jennings County Courthouse is located in Vernon, Indiana. Learn More About State of Indiana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Jennings county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Jennings County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1818, Probate Records from 1818 and Court Records from 1817. The County Clerk responsiblities include administering Court Records of all Court Cases, prepares the Court's permanent historical record, performs marriage ceremonies, process marriage applications and issue marriage licenses, processes and distributes documents for court cases, and keeps a record of all wills and matters of trust in probate proceedings.
  • Jennings County Recorder has Land Records from 1817. The County Recorder maintains, preserves and Records Deeds, Mortgages, Assignments, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Real Estate Contracts, Annexations, Trustee Elections, Affidavits, Final Decrees, Surveys, Federal Tax Liens, Mechanics Liens, Military Discharges, Articles of Incorporation, Cemetery Deeds, Bonds, Plats, Condominiums, Firms Doing Business Under Assumed Names, Delinquent Sewer Liens, and Miscellaneous Instruments.
  • Jennings County Treasurer's Office is responsible for collecting taxes. The treasurer also receives distributions of local income and other taxes that are collected by the state such as real estate tax, personal property tax, mobile home tax, state assessed tax, and the following miscellaneous taxes: auto excise tax, inheritance tax, and innkeeper's tax.
  • Jennings County Department of Health has Birth & Death Records from 1882. The County Department of Health maintains and provides Certified Birth and Death Records.

Jennings County, Indiana Census Records

Jennings County, Indiana Vital Records

Jennings County, Indiana Resources

Jennings County, Indiana External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save