Jackson County, Indiana Records

Jackson County, Indiana (Map It) was created on January 1, 1816 from Clark County, Jefferson County and Washington County. This county was named for U.S. President Andrew Jackson.

Jackson County is bordered by  Brown County (north), Bartholomew County (north), Jennings County (east), Scott County (southeast), Washington County (south), Lawrence County (west), Monroe County (northwest).

Jackson County Cities and Towns include  Brownstown, Crothersville, Medora, Seymour, Uniontown, Vallonia.

Jackson County Townships include  Brownstown, Carr, Driftwood, Grassy Fork, Hamilton, Jackson, Owen, Pershing, Redding, Salt Creek, Vernon, Washington. See Map of Jackson County Townships.

MapGeeks.org has is a collection of old Indiana maps.

Jackson County, Indiana Courthouse Records

Jackson County, Indiana Courthouse
  • Save

Jackson County, IN Courthouse

The Jackson County Courthouse is located in Brownstown, Indiana. Courthouse destroyed by Fire in 1872? and 1881?, No records lost. Learn More About State of Indiana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Jackson county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Jackson County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1816, Probate Records from 1817 and Court Records from ?. The County Clerk responsiblities include administering Court Records of all Court Cases, prepares the Court's permanent historical record, performs marriage ceremonies, process marriage applications and issue marriage licenses, processes and distributes documents for court cases, and keeps a record of all wills and matters of trust in probate proceedings.
  • Jackson County Recorder has Land Records from 1815. The County Recorder maintains, preserves and Records Deeds, Mortgages, Assignments, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Real Estate Contracts, Annexations, Trustee Elections, Affidavits, Final Decrees, Surveys, Federal Tax Liens, Mechanics Liens, Military Discharges, Articles of Incorporation, Cemetery Deeds, Bonds, Plats, Condominiums, Firms Doing Business Under Assumed Names, Delinquent Sewer Liens, and Miscellaneous Instruments.
  • Jackson County Treasurer's Office is responsible for collecting taxes. The treasurer also receives distributions of local income and other taxes that are collected by the state such as real estate tax, personal property tax, mobile home tax, state assessed tax, and the following miscellaneous taxes: auto excise tax, inheritance tax, and innkeeper's tax.
  • Jackson County Department of Health has Birth & Death Records from 1882. The County Department of Health maintains and provides Certified Birth and Death Records.

Jackson County, Indiana Census Records

Jackson County, Indiana Vital Records

Jackson County, Indiana Resources

Jackson County, Indiana External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save