Washington County, Indiana Records

Washington County, Indiana (Map It) was created on December 21, 1813 from Clark County and Harrison County. This county was named for U.S. President George Washington.

Washington County is bordered by  Jackson County (north), Scott County (northeast), Clark County (southeast), Floyd County (south), Harrison County (south), Crawford County (southwest), Orange County (west), Lawrence County (northwest).

Washington County Cities and Towns include  Campbellsburg, Fredericksburg, Hardinsburg, Little York, Livonia, New Pekin, Pekin, Salem, Saltillo.

Washington County Townships include  Brown, Franklin, Gibson, Howard, Jackson, Jefferson, Madison, Monroe, Pierce, Polk, Posey, Vernon, Washington. See Map of Washington County Townships.

MapGeeks.org has is a collection of old Indiana maps.

Washington County, Indiana Courthouse Records

Washington County, Indiana Courthouse
  • Save

Washington County, IN Courthouse

The Washington County Courthouse is located in Salem, Indiana. Learn More About State of Indiana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Washington county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Washington County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1815, Probate Records from 1814 and Court Records from 1814. The County Clerk responsiblities include administering Court Records of all Court Cases, prepares the Court's permanent historical record, performs marriage ceremonies, process marriage applications and issue marriage licenses, processes and distributes documents for court cases, and keeps a record of all wills and matters of trust in probate proceedings.
  • Washington County Recorder has Land Records from 1814. The County Recorder maintains, preserves and Records Deeds, Mortgages, Assignments, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Real Estate Contracts, Annexations, Trustee Elections, Affidavits, Final Decrees, Surveys, Federal Tax Liens, Mechanics Liens, Military Discharges, Articles of Incorporation, Cemetery Deeds, Bonds, Plats, Condominiums, Firms Doing Business Under Assumed Names, Delinquent Sewer Liens, and Miscellaneous Instruments.
  • Washington County Treasurer's Office is responsible for collecting taxes. The treasurer also receives distributions of local income and other taxes that are collected by the state such as real estate tax, personal property tax, mobile home tax, state assessed tax, and the following miscellaneous taxes: auto excise tax, inheritance tax, and innkeeper's tax.
  • Washington County Department of Health has Birth & Death Records from 1882. The County Department of Health maintains and provides Certified Birth and Death Records.

Washington County, Indiana Census Records

Washington County, Indiana Vital Records

Washington County, Indiana Resources

Washington County, Indiana External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save