Crawford County, Indiana Records

Crawford County, Indiana (Map It) was created on January 29, 1818 from Harrison County, Orange County and Perry County. This county was named for Col. William Crawford, surveyor of the Midwest and hero of the French and Indian War and Revolutionary War.

Crawford County is bordered by  Orange County (north), Washington County (northeast), Harrison County (east), Meade County, Kentucky (south), Perry County (southwest), Dubois County (west).

Crawford County Cities and Towns include  Alton, Eckerty, English, Leavenworth, Marengo, Milltown, Taswell.

Crawford County Townships include  Boone, Jennings, Johnson, Liberty, Ohio, Patoka, Sterling, Union, Whiskey Run. See Map of Crawford County Townships. has is a collection of old Indiana maps.

Crawford County, Indiana Courthouse Records

Crawford County, Indiana Courthouse
  • Save

Crawford County, IN Courthouse

The Crawford County Courthouse is located in English, Indiana. Learn More About State of Indiana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Crawford county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Crawford County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1818, Probate Records from 1818 and Court Records from 1818. The County Clerk responsiblities include administering Court Records of all Court Cases, prepares the Court's permanent historical record, performs marriage ceremonies, process marriage applications and issue marriage licenses, processes and distributes documents for court cases, and keeps a record of all wills and matters of trust in probate proceedings.
  • Crawford County Recorder has Land Records from 1818. The County Recorder maintains, preserves and Records Deeds, Mortgages, Assignments, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Real Estate Contracts, Annexations, Trustee Elections, Affidavits, Final Decrees, Surveys, Federal Tax Liens, Mechanics Liens, Military Discharges, Articles of Incorporation, Cemetery Deeds, Bonds, Plats, Condominiums, Firms Doing Business Under Assumed Names, Delinquent Sewer Liens, and Miscellaneous Instruments.
  • Crawford County Treasurer's Office is responsible for collecting taxes. The treasurer also receives distributions of local income and other taxes that are collected by the state such as real estate tax, personal property tax, mobile home tax, state assessed tax, and the following miscellaneous taxes: auto excise tax, inheritance tax, and innkeeper's tax.
  • Crawford County Department of Health has Birth & Death Records from 1882. The County Department of Health maintains and provides Certified Birth and Death Records.

Crawford County, Indiana Census Records

Crawford County, Indiana Vital Records

Crawford County, Indiana Resources

Crawford County, Indiana External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save