Dubois County, Indiana Records

Dubois County, Indiana (Map It) was created on February 1, 1818 from Pike County. This county was named for Toussaint Dubois, hero of the Battle of Tippecanoe and the War of 1812.

Dubois County is bordered by  Martin County (north), Orange County (northeast), Crawford County (east), Perry County (southeast), Spencer County (south), Warrick County (southwest), Pike County (west), Daviess County (northwest).

Dubois County Cities and Towns include  Birdseye, Ferdinand , Holland, Huntingburg, Jasper.

Dubois County Townships include  Bainbridge, Boone, Cass, Columbia, Ferdinand, Hall, Harbison, Jackson, Jefferson, Madison, Marion, Patoka. See Map of Dubois County Townships.

MapGeeks.org has is a collection of old Indiana maps.

Dubois County, Indiana Courthouse Records

Dubois County, Indiana Courthouse
  • Save

Dubois County, IN Courthouse

The Dubois County Courthouse is located in Jasper, Indiana. Courthouse destroyed by Fire in Aug. 1839, All records destroyed, except the WPA found 10 boxes of deeds from 1812. Learn More About State of Indiana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Dubois county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Dubois County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1839, Probate Records from 1840 and Court Records from 1840. The County Clerk responsiblities include administering Court Records of all Court Cases, prepares the Court's permanent historical record, performs marriage ceremonies, process marriage applications and issue marriage licenses, processes and distributes documents for court cases, and keeps a record of all wills and matters of trust in probate proceedings.
  • Dubois County Recorder has Land Records from 1839. The County Recorder maintains, preserves and Records Deeds, Mortgages, Assignments, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Real Estate Contracts, Annexations, Trustee Elections, Affidavits, Final Decrees, Surveys, Federal Tax Liens, Mechanics Liens, Military Discharges, Articles of Incorporation, Cemetery Deeds, Bonds, Plats, Condominiums, Firms Doing Business Under Assumed Names, Delinquent Sewer Liens, and Miscellaneous Instruments.
  • Dubois County Treasurer's Office is responsible for collecting taxes. The treasurer also receives distributions of local income and other taxes that are collected by the state such as real estate tax, personal property tax, mobile home tax, state assessed tax, and the following miscellaneous taxes: auto excise tax, inheritance tax, and innkeeper's tax.
  • Dubois County Department of Health has Birth & Death Records from 1882. The County Department of Health maintains and provides Certified Birth and Death Records.

Dubois County, Indiana Census Records

Dubois County, Indiana Vital Records

Dubois County, Indiana Resources

Dubois County, Indiana External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save