Daviess County, Indiana Records

Daviess County, Indiana (Map It) was created on February 15, 1817 from Knox County. This county was named for Col. Joseph H. Daviess, hero of the Battle of Tippecanoe.

Daviess County is bordered by  Greene County (north), Martin County (east), Dubois County (southeast), Pike County (southwest), Knox County (west).

Daviess County Cities and Towns include  Alfordsville, Cannelburg, Elnora, Montgomery, Odon, Plainville, Washington.

Daviess County Townships include  Barr, Bogard, Elmore, Harrison, Madison, Reeve, Steele, Van Buren, Veale, Washington. See Map of Daviess County Townships.

MapGeeks.org has is a collection of old Indiana maps.

Daviess County, Indiana Courthouse Records

Daviess County, Indiana Courthouse
  • Save

Daviess County, IN Courthouse

The Daviess County Courthouse is located in Washington, Indiana. Courthouse destroyed by Fire in 1879, Marriage records and index to probate and deed records were not destroyed. Learn More About State of Indiana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Daviess county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Daviess County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1817, Probate Records from 1817 and Court Records from 1817. The County Clerk responsiblities include administering Court Records of all Court Cases, prepares the Court's permanent historical record, performs marriage ceremonies, process marriage applications and issue marriage licenses, processes and distributes documents for court cases, and keeps a record of all wills and matters of trust in probate proceedings.
  • Daviess County Recorder has Land Records from 1817. The County Recorder maintains, preserves and Records Deeds, Mortgages, Assignments, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Real Estate Contracts, Annexations, Trustee Elections, Affidavits, Final Decrees, Surveys, Federal Tax Liens, Mechanics Liens, Military Discharges, Articles of Incorporation, Cemetery Deeds, Bonds, Plats, Condominiums, Firms Doing Business Under Assumed Names, Delinquent Sewer Liens, and Miscellaneous Instruments.
  • Daviess County Treasurer's Office is responsible for collecting taxes. The treasurer also receives distributions of local income and other taxes that are collected by the state such as real estate tax, personal property tax, mobile home tax, state assessed tax, and the following miscellaneous taxes: auto excise tax, inheritance tax, and innkeeper's tax.
  • Daviess County Department of Health has Birth & Death Records from 1882. The County Department of Health maintains and provides Certified Birth and Death Records.

Daviess County, Indiana Census Records

Daviess County, Indiana Vital Records

Daviess County, Indiana Resources

Daviess County, Indiana External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save