Knox County, Indiana Records

Knox County, Indiana (Map It) was created on June 20, 1790 as an Original County. (Knox County, NW Territory, was formed from non-county area in 1790. This included segments of present Illinois, Michigan, Ohio, Wisconsin, plus all of Indiana. Knox County became an Indiana territory in 1800, although much of the original county had been formed into other counties by that time. It became an Indiana county in 1816). This county was named for U.S. Secretary of War Henry Knox.

Knox County is bordered by  Sullivan County (north), Greene County (northeast), Daviess County (east), Pike County (southeast), Gibson County (south), Wabash County, Illinois (southwest), Lawrence County, Illinois (west), Crawford County, Illinois (northwest).

Knox County Cities and Towns include  Bicknell, Bruceville, Decker, Edwardsport, Freelandville, Monroe City, Oaktown, Sandborn, Vincennes, Westphalia, Wheatland.

Knox County Townships include  Busseron, Decker, Harrison, Johnson, Palmyra, Steen, Vigo, Vincennes, Washington, Widner. See Map of Knox County Townships. has is a collection of old Indiana maps.

Knox County, Indiana Courthouse Records

Knox County, Indiana Courthouse
  • Save

Knox County, IN Courthouse

The Knox County Courthouse is located in Vincennes, Indiana. Courthouse destroyed by Fire in Jan. 1814, Records that survived: marriages from 1807; order book from 1811; minutes book 1816-1818; orphan's court minutes 1796-1805; minutes of common pleas court 1790-1810; general indexes to administrations from 1795-1886; deeds from 1814 and wills from 1806. Learn More About State of Indiana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Knox county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Knox County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1806, Probate Records from 1790 and Court Records from 1801. The County Clerk responsiblities include administering Court Records of all Court Cases, prepares the Court's permanent historical record, performs marriage ceremonies, process marriage applications and issue marriage licenses, processes and distributes documents for court cases, and keeps a record of all wills and matters of trust in probate proceedings.
  • Knox County Recorder has Land Records from 1783. The County Recorder maintains, preserves and Records Deeds, Mortgages, Assignments, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Real Estate Contracts, Annexations, Trustee Elections, Affidavits, Final Decrees, Surveys, Federal Tax Liens, Mechanics Liens, Military Discharges, Articles of Incorporation, Cemetery Deeds, Bonds, Plats, Condominiums, Firms Doing Business Under Assumed Names, Delinquent Sewer Liens, and Miscellaneous Instruments.
  • Knox County Treasurer's Office is responsible for collecting taxes. The treasurer also receives distributions of local income and other taxes that are collected by the state such as real estate tax, personal property tax, mobile home tax, state assessed tax, and the following miscellaneous taxes: auto excise tax, inheritance tax, and innkeeper's tax.
  • Knox County Department of Health has Birth & Death Records from 1882. The County Department of Health maintains and provides Certified Birth and Death Records.

Knox County, Indiana Census Records

Knox County, Indiana Vital Records

Knox County, Indiana Resources

Knox County, Indiana External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save