Gibson County, Indiana Records

Gibson County, Indiana (Map It) was created on April 1, 1813 from Knox County. This county was named for John Gibson, secretary of the Indiana Territory.

Gibson County is bordered by  Knox County (north), Pike County (east), Warrick County (southeast), Vanderburgh County (south central), Posey County (south southwest), White County, Illinois (southwest), Edwards County, Illinois (west), Wabash County, Illinois (west).

Gibson County Cities and Towns include  Oakland City, Princeton, Buckskin, Fort Branch, Francisco, Haubstadt, Hazleton , Mackey, Owensville, Patoka, Somerville.

Gibson County Townships include  Barton, Center, Columbia, Johnson, Montgomery, Patoka, Union, Wabash, Washington, White River. See Map of Gibson County Townships. has is a collection of old Indiana maps.

Gibson County, Indiana Courthouse Records

Gibson County, Indiana Courthouse
  • Save

Gibson County, IN Courthouse

The Gibson County Courthouse is located in Princeton, Indiana. Courthouse destroyed by Fire in 1935, No records harmed. Learn More About State of Indiana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Gibson county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Gibson County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1813, Probate Records from 1813 and Court Records from 1813. The County Clerk responsiblities include administering Court Records of all Court Cases, prepares the Court's permanent historical record, performs marriage ceremonies, process marriage applications and issue marriage licenses, processes and distributes documents for court cases, and keeps a record of all wills and matters of trust in probate proceedings.
  • Gibson County Recorder has Land Records from 1836. The County Recorder maintains, preserves and Records Deeds, Mortgages, Assignments, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Real Estate Contracts, Annexations, Trustee Elections, Affidavits, Final Decrees, Surveys, Federal Tax Liens, Mechanics Liens, Military Discharges, Articles of Incorporation, Cemetery Deeds, Bonds, Plats, Condominiums, Firms Doing Business Under Assumed Names, Delinquent Sewer Liens, and Miscellaneous Instruments.
  • Gibson County Treasurer's Office is responsible for collecting taxes. The treasurer also receives distributions of local income and other taxes that are collected by the state such as real estate tax, personal property tax, mobile home tax, state assessed tax, and the following miscellaneous taxes: auto excise tax, inheritance tax, and innkeeper's tax.
  • Gibson County Department of Health has Birth & Death Records from 1880. The County Department of Health maintains and provides Certified Birth and Death Records.

Gibson County, Indiana Census Records

Gibson County, Indiana Vital Records

Gibson County, Indiana Resources

Gibson County, Indiana External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save