Bartholomew County, Indiana Records

Bartholomew County, Indiana (Map It) was created on January 8, 1821 from Delaware New Purchase and Jackson County. This county was named for Lt. Col. Joseph Bartholomew, a hero of the Battle of Tippecanoe.

Bartholomew County is bordered by  Shelby County (northeast), Decatur County (east), Jennings County (southeast), Jackson County (south), Brown County (west), Johnson County (northwest).

Bartholomew County Cities and Towns include  Clifford, Columbus, Edinburgh, Elizabethtown, Hartsville, Hope, Jonesville, Taylorsville.

Bartholomew County Townships include  Clay, Clifty, Columbus, Flat Rock, German, Harrison, Haw Creek, Jackson, Ohio, Rock Creek, Sand Creek, Wayne. See Map of Bartholomew County Townships. has is a collection of old Indiana maps.

Bartholomew County, Indiana Courthouse Records

Bartholomew County, Indiana Courthouse
  • Save

Bartholomew County, IN Courthouse

The Bartholomew County Courthouse is located in Columbus, Indiana. Learn More About State of Indiana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Bartholomew county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Bartholomew County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1821, Probate Records from 1821 and Court Records from 1821. The County Clerk responsiblities include administering Court Records of all Court Cases, prepares the Court's permanent historical record, performs marriage ceremonies, process marriage applications and issue marriage licenses, processes and distributes documents for court cases, and keeps a record of all wills and matters of trust in probate proceedings.
  • Bartholomew County Recorder has Land Records from 1822. The County Recorder maintains, preserves and Records Deeds, Mortgages, Assignments, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Real Estate Contracts, Annexations, Trustee Elections, Affidavits, Final Decrees, Surveys, Federal Tax Liens, Mechanics Liens, Military Discharges, Articles of Incorporation, Cemetery Deeds, Bonds, Plats, Condominiums, Firms Doing Business Under Assumed Names, Delinquent Sewer Liens, and Miscellaneous Instruments.
  • Bartholomew County Treasurer's Office is responsible for collecting taxes. The treasurer also receives distributions of local income and other taxes that are collected by the state such as real estate tax, personal property tax, mobile home tax, state assessed tax, and the following miscellaneous taxes: auto excise tax, inheritance tax, and innkeeper's tax.
  • Bartholomew County Department of Health has Birth & Death Records from 1882. The County Department of Health maintains and provides Certified Birth and Death Records.

Bartholomew County, Indiana Census Records

Bartholomew County, Indiana Vital Records

Bartholomew County, Indiana Resources

Bartholomew County, Indiana External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save