Dearborn County, Indiana Records

Dearborn County, Indiana (Map It) was created on March 7, 1803 from Clark County. This county was named for U.S. Secretary of War Henry Dearborn.

Dearborn County is bordered by  Franklin County (north), Butler County, Ohio (northeast), Hamilton County, Ohio (east), Boone County, Kentucky (southeast), Ohio County (south), Ripley County (west).

Dearborn County Cities and Towns include  Aurora, Bright, Dillsboro, Greendale, Hidden Valley, Lawrenceburg, Moores Hill, Saint Leon, West Harrison.

Dearborn County Townships include  Caesar Creek, Center, Clay, Harrison, Hogan, Jackson, Kelso, Lawrenceburg, Logan, Manchester, Miller, Sparta, Washington, York. See Map of Dearborn County Townships. has is a collection of old Indiana maps.

Dearborn County, Indiana Courthouse Records

Dearborn County, Indiana Courthouse
  • Save

Dearborn County, IN Courthouse

The Dearborn County Courthouse is located in Lawrenceburg, Indiana. Courthouse destroyed by Fire in Mar. 1826, Most records lost--some early marriage and will records exist. Learn More About State of Indiana Court, Tax, Land and Probate Records.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Dearborn county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Dearborn County Clerk has Marriage Records from 1806, Probate Records from 1824 and Court Records from 1824. The County Clerk responsiblities include administering Court Records of all Court Cases, prepares the Court's permanent historical record, performs marriage ceremonies, process marriage applications and issue marriage licenses, processes and distributes documents for court cases, and keeps a record of all wills and matters of trust in probate proceedings.
  • Dearborn County Recorder has Land Records from 1821. The County Recorder maintains, preserves and Records Deeds, Mortgages, Assignments, Releases, Powers of Attorney, Real Estate Contracts, Annexations, Trustee Elections, Affidavits, Final Decrees, Surveys, Federal Tax Liens, Mechanics Liens, Military Discharges, Articles of Incorporation, Cemetery Deeds, Bonds, Plats, Condominiums, Firms Doing Business Under Assumed Names, Delinquent Sewer Liens, and Miscellaneous Instruments.
  • Dearborn County Treasurer's Office is responsible for collecting taxes. The treasurer also receives distributions of local income and other taxes that are collected by the state such as real estate tax, personal property tax, mobile home tax, state assessed tax, and the following miscellaneous taxes: auto excise tax, inheritance tax, and innkeeper's tax.
  • Dearborn County Department of Health has Birth & Death Records from 1882. The County Department of Health maintains and provides Certified Birth and Death Records.

Dearborn County, Indiana Census Records

Dearborn County, Indiana Vital Records

Dearborn County, Indiana Resources

Dearborn County, Indiana External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save