Lawrence County, Alabama Records

Lawrence County, Alabama (Map It) was created on Feb 6, 1818 from lands ceeded from the Cherokee and Chickasaw Cession of 1816.. Lawrence county was named in honor of Capt. James Lawrence (Vermont), a naval hero of the War of 1812.

Lawrence County is bordered by Limestone County (northeast), Morgan County (east), Cullman County (southeast), Winston County (south), Lauderdale County (northwest), Franklin County (west), Colbert County (west).

Lawrence County Cities and Towns include Courtland, Hillsboro, Moulton, North Courtland, Town Creek.

A Map of Lawrence County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. There is a collection of old Alabama maps at

Lawrence County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Lawrence County, Alabama Courthouse
  • Save

Lawrence County, AL Courthouse

The Lawrence County Courthouse is located in Moulton, Alabama. There was record loss due to a courthouse fire in 1859.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Lawrence county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Lawrence County, Alabama Census Records

Lawrence County, Alabama Vital Records

Lawrence County, Alabama Resources

Lawrence County, Alabama External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save