Colbert County, Alabama Records

Colbert County, Alabama (Map It) was created on February 6, 1867 from part of Franklin County. It was abolished by the Constitutional Convention on November 29, 1867, and re-established by the legislature on December 9, 1869. Colbert county was named in honor of George and Levi Colbert, noted Chickasaw chiefs, who resided in the county.

Colbert County is bordered by Lauderdale County (north), Lawrence County (southeast), Franklin County (south), Tishomingo County, Mississippi (west).

Colbert County Cities and Towns include Muscle Shoals, Sheffield, Tuscumbia, Cherokee, Leighton, Littleville.

A Map of Colbert County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. There is a collection of old Alabama maps at

Colbert County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Colbert County, Alabama Courthouse
  • Save

Colbert County, AL Courthouse

The Colbert County Courthouse is located in Tuscumbia, Alabama.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Colbert county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

  • Colbert County Clerk of Circuit Court has Court Records from ? and has Divorce Records prior to 1950.
  • Colbert County Clerk of Probate Court has Marriage Records from 1867, Probate Records from 1867 and Land Records from 1867.
  • Colbert County Assessor's Office maintains County tax records. These records are usually arranged by legal description and are not indexed.
  • Colbert County Health Department has Birth Records from 1881, Death records from 1881 1000 S. Jackson Highway, Sheffield, AL 35660, Main phone number 256-383-1231.
  • Colbert County Courthouse brief timeline:
    • 1867 - Colbert County formed from part of Franklin County
    • 1881 - Colbert County Courthouse construction begun
    • 1882 - May: Colbert County Courthouse construction completed
    • 1908 - Colbert County Courthouse razed except for brick walls
    • 1909 - Colbert County Courthouse rebuilt and tower clock added
    • 1948 - North wing county courthouse added
    • 1974 - January: new Colbert County Courthouse wing construction begun
    • 1975 - June: $2 million Colbert County Courthouse wing construction completed

Colbert County, Alabama Census Records

Colbert County, Alabama Vital Records

Colbert County, Alabama Resources

Colbert County, Alabama External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save