Franklin County, Alabama Records

Franklin County, Alabama (Map It) was created on February 6, 1818 out of the Cherokee Cession of 1816. Franklin county was named in honor of Benjamin Franklin.

Franklin County is bordered by Colbert County (north), Lawrence County (east), Winston County (southeast), Marion County (south), Itawamba County, Mississippi (southwest), Tishomingo County, Mississippi (northwest)

Franklin County Cities and Towns include Belgreen, Hodges, Phil Campbell, Red Bay, Russellville, Vina.

A Map of Franklin County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. There is a collection of old Alabama maps at

Franklin County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Franklin County, Alabama Courthouse
  • Save

Franklin County, AL Courthouse

The Franklin County Courthouse is located in Russellville, Alabama. The county seat was originally located at Russellville, named after William Russell, an early settler and chief scout for Gen. Andrew Jackson during the Creek Indian War of 1813-14. In 1849, the county seat was transferred to Frankfort, where it remained until 1879 when it was moved to Belgreen. A courthouse fire in 1890 probably accounted for the relocation of the county seat to Russellville in 1891. There was record loss due to a courthouse fire in 1890 .

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Franklin county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Franklin County, Alabama Census Records

Franklin County, Alabama Vital Records

Franklin County, Alabama Resources

Franklin County, Alabama External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save