Winston County, Alabama Records

Winston County, Alabama (Map It) was created on February 12, 1850 from territory formerly in Walker County. Originally named Hancock County and was Renamed Winston County on January 22, 1858. Winston county was named for Gov. John Hancock of Massachusetts and John A. Winston (1812–1871), 15th Governor of Alabama.

Winston County is bordered by Lawrence County (north), Cullman County (east), Walkery County (south), Marion County (west), Franklin County (northwest).

Winston County Cities and Towns include Addison, Arley, Delmar, Double Springs, Haleyville, Lynn, Natural Bridge, Nauvoo, South Haleyville, Houston.

A Map of Winston County, Alabama contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries. There is a collection of old Alabama maps at

Winston County, Alabama Courthouse Records

Winston County, Alabama Courthouse
  • Save

Winston County, AL Courthouse

The Winston County Courthouse is located in Double Springs, Alabama. There was record loss due to a courthouse fire in 1895.

Please contact the each clerk's department to confirm mailing address, hours, fees and other information before visiting or requesting information because contact information sometimes changes.  The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH.  The documents are available to interested parties, barring confidential issues.  Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Winston county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk.

Winston County, Alabama Census Records

Winston County, Alabama Vital Records

Winston County, Alabama Resources

Winston County, Alabama External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save