Wayne County, West Virginia Records

Wayne County, West Virginia (Map It) was created on January 18, 1842 from portions of Cabell County. The county was named in honor of General "Mad" Anthony Wayne (1745-1796), Revolutionary War general and U.S. Congressman (GA).

Wayne County is bordered by Lawrence County, Ohio (north), Cabell County (northeast), Lincoln County (east), Mingo County (southeast), Martin County, Kentucky (south), Lawrence County, Kentucky (west), Boyd County, Kentucky (northeast).

A Map of Wayne County, West Virginia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Wayne County Cities and Towns include Ceredo, Cove Gap, Crum, Dunlow, East Lynn, Fort Gay, Genoa, Glenhayes, Huntington, Kenova, Kiahsville, Lavalette, Prichard, Radnor, Shoals, Wayne, Wilsondale

Wayne County, West Virginia Courthouse Records

Wayne County, West Virginia Courthouse
  • Save

Wayne County, WV Courthouse

The Wayne County Courthouse is located in Wayne, West Virginia. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Wayne county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk. Until 1863 West Virginia was part of Virginia, See Virginia State Records for Info and links for years prior to 1863. Courthouse Fire in 1921, but no records lost.

Wayne County, West Virginia Census Records

Wayne County, West Virginia Vital Records

Wayne County, West Virginia Resources

Wayne County, West Virginia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save