Mingo County, West Virginia Records

Mingo County, West Virginia (Map It) was created on January 30, 1895 from portions of Logan County. The county was named in honor of the Mingo Indian tribe that had been the earliest known settlers of the region.

Mingo County is bordered by Lincoln County (north), Logan County (northeast), Wyoming County (east), McDowell County (southeast), Pike County, Kentucky (west), Martin County, Kentucky (west), Wayne County (northwest).

A Map of Mingo County, West Virginia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Mingo County Cities and Towns include Baisden, Blackberry City, Borderland, Breeden, Edgarton, Emmett, Gilbert, Hampden, Justice, Kermit, Lenore, Lobata, Matewan, Meador, Myrtle, Naugatuck, Newtown, Nolan, North Matewan, Ragland, Rawl, Red Jacket, Sprigg, Thacker, Varney, Verner, Vulcan, Wharncliffe, Williamson

Mingo County, West Virginia Courthouse Records

Mingo County, West Virginia Courthouse
  • Save

Mingo County, WV Courthouse

The Mingo County Courthouse is located in Williamson, West Virginia. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Mingo county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk. Until 1863 West Virginia was part of Virginia, See Virginia State Records for Info and links for years prior to 1863. Courthouse flooded in 1977, heavily damaging records. Mingo was not created until 1895, so Church of the Latter Day Saints (LDS) was not interested in filming Mingo's records during the 1960's-70's when they filmed other counties because LDS was concentrating on pre-1900 records at the time. By the time Mingo records were scheduled for filming, privacy laws had been enacted which prevented copying many records. Births for 1900-24, Deaths for 1894-1925, Marriages for 1895-1926 and Wills for 1895-1926 were filmed.

Mingo County, West Virginia Census Records

Mingo County, West Virginia Vital Records

Mingo County, West Virginia Resources

Mingo County, West Virginia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save