Nicholas County, West Virginia Records

Nicholas County, West Virginia (Map It) was created on January 30, 1818 from portions of Greenbrier County, Kanawha County and Randolph County. The county was named in honor of Wilson Cary Nicholas (1761-1820), U.S. Senator (VA) and Governor of Virginia.

Nicholas County is bordered by Braxton County (north), Webster County (northeast), Greenbrier County (southeast), Fayette County (southwest), Clay County (northwest), Kanawaha County (west).

A Map of Nicholas County, West Virginia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Nicholas County Cities and Towns include Belva, Birch River, Calvin, Canvas, Cottle, Craigsville, Dixie, Drennen, Fenwick, Gilboa, Keslers Cross Lanes, Leivasy, Mount Lookout, Mount Nebo, Nettie, Pool, Richwood, Runa, Summersville, Swiss, Tioga

Nicholas County, West Virginia Courthouse Records

Nicholas County, West Virginia Courthouse
  • Save

Nicholas County, WV Courthouse

The Nicholas County Courthouse is located in Summersville, West Virginia. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Nicholas county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk. Until 1863 West Virginia was part of Virginia, See Virginia State Records for Info and links for years prior to 1863.

Nicholas County, West Virginia Census Records

Nicholas County, West Virginia Vital Records

Nicholas County, West Virginia Resources

Nicholas County, West Virginia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save