Braxton County, West Virginia Records

Braxton County, West Virginia (Map It) was created on January 15, 1836 from portions of Kanawha County, Lewis County and Nicholas County. The county was named in honor of Carter Braxton (1736-1797), a noted Virginia statesman and Signer of the Declaration of Independence

Braxton County is bordered by Lewis County (northeast), Webster County (southeast), Nicholas County (south), Clay County (southwest), Calhoun County (west), Gilmer County (northwest).

A Map of Braxton County, West Virginia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Braxton County Cities and Towns include Burnsville, Centralia, Clem, Copen, Corley, Elmira, Exchange, Falls Mill, Flatwoods, Frametown, Gassaway, Gem, Glendon, Heaters, Herold, Little Birch, Napier, Newville, Riffle, Strange Creek, Sutton, Tesla, Wilsie

Braxton County, West Virginia Courthouse Records

Braxton County, West Virginia Courthouse
  • Save

Braxton County, WV Courthouse

The Braxton County Courthouse is located in Sutton, West Virginia. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Braxton county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk. Until 1863 West Virginia was part of Virginia, See Virginia State Records for Info and links for years prior to 1863. Courthouse fire in 1861, but many records still exist from 1836 on.

Braxton County, West Virginia Census Records

Braxton County, West Virginia Vital Records

Braxton County, West Virginia Resources

Braxton County, West Virginia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save