Lewis County, West Virginia Records

Lewis County, West Virginia (Map It) was created on December 18, 1816 from portions of Harrison County. The county was named in honor of Colonel Charles Lewis (1733-1774), who was killed at the decisive Battle of Point Pleasant.

Lewis County is bordered by Harrison County (north), Upshur County (east), Webster County (south), Braxton County (southwest), Gilmer County (west), Doddridge County (northwest).

A Map of Lewis County, West Virginia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Lewis County Cities and Towns include Alum Bridge, Camden, Crawford, Horner, Ireland, Jane Lew, Orlando, Roanoke, Vadis, Valley Chapel, Walkersville, Weston, Wildcat

Lewis County, West Virginia Courthouse Records

Lewis County, West Virginia Courthouse
  • Save

Lewis County, WV Courthouse

The Lewis County Courthouse is located in Weston, West Virginia. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Lewis county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk. Until 1863 West Virginia was part of Virginia, See Virginia State Records for Info and links for years prior to 1863. Courthouse Fire in 1886 destroyed courthouse, but records were saved.

Lewis County, West Virginia Census Records

Lewis County, West Virginia Vital Records

Lewis County, West Virginia Resources

Lewis County, West Virginia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save