Gilmer County, West Virginia Records

Gilmer County, West Virginia (Map It) was created on February 3, 1845 from portions of Kanawha County and Lewis County. The county was named in honor of Thomas Walker Gilmer (1802-1844), U.S. Secretary of the Navy and Governor of Virginia.

Gilmer County is bordered by Doddridge County (north), Lewis County (east), Braxton County (south), Calhoun County (west), Ritchie County (northwest).

A Map of Gilmer County, West Virginia contains detailed information about roads and boundaries, these maps may include rural communities, churches, and cemeteries.

Gilmer County Cities and Towns include Baldwin, Cedarville, Coxs Mills, Flower, Gilmer, Glenville, Letter Gap, Linn, Lockney, Nicut, Normantown, Perkins, Rosedale, Sand Fork, Shock, Stouts Mills, Stumptown, Troy

Gilmer County, West Virginia Courthouse Records

Gilmer County, West Virginia Courthouse
  • Save

Gilmer County, WV Courthouse

The Gilmer County Courthouse is located in Glenville, West Virginia. The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH. Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The following dates indicates what vital, land, probate, and court records are in Gilmer county. The date listed for each record is usually the earliest registration filed. The date does not indicate that there are alot records for that year and does not mean that all such events were actually filed with the clerk. Until 1863 West Virginia was part of Virginia, See Virginia State Records for Info and links for years prior to 1863.

Gilmer County, West Virginia Census Records

Gilmer County, West Virginia Vital Records

Gilmer County, West Virginia Resources

Gilmer County, West Virginia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save