Russell County, Virginia Records

Russell County, Virginia (Map It) was created in January 06, 1786 from Washington County . Russell county was named for William Russell, frontiersman and state representative .

Russell County is bordered by Dickenson County (northwest), Buchanan County (north), Tazewell County (east), Smyth County (southeast), Washington County (south), Scott County (southwest), Wise County (west).

Russell County Cities and Towns include Castlewood, Cleveland, Honaker, Lebanon and Dante . has is a collection of old Virginia maps.

Russell County, Virginia Courthouse Records

Russell County, VA Courthouse
  • Save

Russell County, VA Courthouse

The Russell County Courthouse is located in Lebanon, Virginia. The old Russell County Courthouse was located at Dickensonville on Copper Creek. The courthouse was used 1799-1818, when a new county seat was designated.

The Clerk's Office DOES NOT DO RESEARCH . Most staff will assist people in finding the materials, but it is up to the individual to do the research.

The Russell County record dates below are from the earliest date to present time. They may include records of land, estates, taxes, vital records, divorces, naturalizations, voter registration, military discharges and court records.

The first marriage register and all loose files were lost in a fire in the clerk's office in 1872.

Russell County, Virginia Census Records

Russell County, Virginia Vital Records

Russell County, Virginia Resources

Russell County, Virginia External Links

  • Save
  • Save
  • Save
Amazon Books
  • Save